That's Music
Promotions and Booking

In Memory & Tribute of
Al Wilson and Alan O'Day

Read More About Al Wilson

Read More About Alan O'Day

We love you Al and Alan!

Check Out the That's Music Promotions and Entertainment MySpace Page!

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Business Promotions - General in Quinton AL


Molly Hatchet

Then to Now


In the early 1970's a new form of music was emerging in the south. A mixture of blues, country, gospel and the English invasion of rock and roll that later was to be coined as the phrase "Southern Rock." The music was filled with style and emotion and with bands in the fore-front such as the Allman Brothers, Lynyrd Skynyrd and a band from Jacksonville, Florida called Molly Hatchet, named after a famous 17th century axe murderess Hatchet Molly, who would behead her lovers with the hand tool Lizzy Borden made famous.

Their self-titled debut album (which included Danny Joe Brown, Dave Hlubek, Duane Roland, Steve Holland, Banner Thomas and Bruce Crump in the lineup) was released on Epic records in 1978 and reached multi-platinum status as the band established their reputation of working hard, playing tough and living fast through intense touring with such bands as Aerosmith, Bob Seger, the Rolling Stones and many more.

1979 saw the release of the blockbuster album Flirtin' With Disaster. The band continued touring on the road with an average of 250 live shows per year and, like the first album, Flirtin'... also achieved multi-platinum status.

Lead singer Danny Joe Brown left the band in 1980 and contacted Bobby Ingram (a well known southern guitarist and friend who gave DJB his first singing gig in 1975 with a Jacksonville based band called Rum Creek). Brown and Ingram then put together (with keyboardist John Galvin) the Danny Joe Brown Band and continued touring until 1982.

Molly Hatchet Photo Gallery


This text will be replaced by the flash music player.

Singer Jimmy Farrar replaced Brown and Molly Hatchet recorded the albums Beatin' The Odds (1980) and Take No Prisoners (1982) .

In 1983, Brown returned to Molly Hatchet, bringing in new bassist Riff West and the Danny Joe Brown Band keyboardist John Galvin to replace guitarist Steve Holland. The band released No Guts, No Glory (1983), The Deed Is Done (1984) and Double-Trouble Live (1985). In 1986, Hlubek was out of the band, replaced by the Danny Joe Brown Band guitarist Bobby Ingram. This lineup toured constantly and recorded 1989's Lightning Strikes Twice. They also recorded two new songs that were included on the 1990 Greatest Hits CD.

In the summer 1990, Roland, Crump, Galvin and West left the band, making way for young, talented new members to join Molly Hatchet under Brown and Ingram's leadership.

Brown retired from the band again in 1995 (due to health reasons) and asked his long-time stand-in and friend Phil McCormack to fulfill his recording and touring responsibilities. Danny then passed the Molly Hatchet torch to guitarist Bobby Ingram, who lead (and continues to lead) the band into the next millennium.

In 1995, after five years of non-stop touring, the band (now under Ingram's leadership) landed a major recording deal. The results were the critically acclaimed CDs Devil's Canyon (1996), Silent Reign Of Heroes (1998), Kingdom Of XII (2000), Locked And Loaded; Double Live (2003), Best Of Re-Recorded; The 25th Anniversary CD (2003) and their latest studio effort Warriors Of The Rainbow Bridge (2005). Molly Hatchet released it's first DVD "Live In Hamburg" in 2005, and a new studio CD and a new live DVD will be released in 2007.

Sadly, the Molly Hatchet band has since lost two key alumni. Danny Joe Brown passed away in 2004 and Duane Roland went home in 2006. God bless Danny, Duane, their families and friends.

In 2006 guitarist Bobby Ingram celebrated his 20th Anniversary as lead guitarist of the Molly Hatchet band. Original Molly Hatchet/Danny Joe Brown Band keyboardist John Galvin remains in the lineup, as well as veteran singer Phil McCormack, who now has 10 years as the voice of Molly Hatchet.

Co-founding Molly Hatchet member Dave Hlubek returned to the fold in January of 2005 and is enjoying his second stint with the band. Dave looks forward to more recording and touring with the 21st century Molly Hatchet lineup.

Rounding out the band is the rock-solid rhythm section of the respected, seasoned bassist Tim Lindsey (Lynyrd Skynyrd) and 5th-year member Shawn Beamer, a powerhouse drummer from Daytona Beach whom his fans have nick-named "Thunder!".

"So, as we roll on through our next 25 years of music & the road (along with our dear fans who walk beside us no matter what) I can guarantee that the southern rock fans around the world will grow and become stronger than ever before and keep developing the common bond and unity that keeps this style of music alive and well...

...and rest assured, after 27 years, Molly Hatchet is a band that is always working hard, playing fast, living tough and still...


Bobby Ingram

Our Artists | Our Shows | The Industry | About Us | Contact Us | Home

Copyright © All rights reserved.